Beware: Sherline's CNC Product is horrible

More
13 Aug 2014 04:16 #49779 by GaryLa
I just got the Sherline CNC mill/lathe package.

I don't think they should say they have CNC software. The CD they provide is incomplete and doesn't yield anything that works. Also, they know nothing about the software and have no tech support.

The circuit board is about 10 years out of date and is poorly designed. They even glued the cables to the connectors...

I have lots of Linux experience, write kernel modules and applications and have designed many circuit boards. Normally, I'd dive right in, but I paid for a complete product -- not a half-baked kit that I have to debug. There's no excuse for this given they provide a CD with the OS and LinuxCNC together. I dedicated a PC to it and it still couldn't manage to work.

So beware: Their CNC package should be avoided unless you want to pull your hair out.

Remember: Linux is free as long as you don't value your time...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Aug 2014 00:47 #50226 by GaryLa
Update:

The CD doesn't install anything useful - unless you happen to own the exact same PC they use. Not a major problem, except for the fact they don't tell you this...

I called for some tech support and learned the reason they don't tell you is - they don't know anything about computers, their driver board or the software. Nothing. Nada. They use the usual "it's you, it's your fault, nobody ever has this problem..."

When I bought the product they stated "we have a tech guy". So I asked "where's the tech guy?" Nobody knew. It turned out that he took a few months off for surgery, he just didn't tell anyone. They never noticed he was gone. Yikes. A week later I talked to him and he knew as much about Linux as a run-of-the-mill newbie. When I told him how I had to fix their config files, he asked if I could document it for him so he could put it on their website.